Broken In Sweatshirt


We had a very nice Thanksgiving this year. We spent Thanksgiving Day my husband’s family. Oh who am I kidding, we pretty much spent the entire weekend with them! My husband took off for the weekend to go deer hunting and I spent Friday and Saturday with my in-laws!

This past Thanksgiving Holiday I found myself reflecting on the past year and I have come to the conclusion that I am getting older. Not OLD like my 10-year-old likes to call me, but older like a broken in sweatshirt that fits just right!

Here are a few things that happened or I did this past weekend that really opened my eyes to this new broken in sweatshirt stage of my life:

  • Thanksgiving Day I sat down and watched the Macy’s Parade all by myself. I like it so I watched it! And… I told anyone that came into the room trying to change the channel to get the hell out!
  • Friday morning my mother-in-law, my two sister-in-laws and I went antique shopping. I had blast! I didn’t buy anything but I did take these pictures:

I had the same Fisher-Price Little People sets when I was a little kid! They were my favorite toys! The antique shop wanted $50 per toy set! As for the coffee cup, I drank my very first milk-sugar-coffee from a cup just like that! They wanted $8 a cup for them! It’s a good thing I didn’t have any cash on me!

  • I left both of my girls alone with my brother-in-law and 3 of my nephews while I went out shopping. Did I mention I left them out in the country with lots of 4-wheelers and a dirt bike at their fingertips! Also the brother-in-law in question acts like he is one of the kids! They all survived and so did I! Although as the days keep going on I am hearing stories from my girls that involve not wearing helmets, dirt bikes and wrecks into parked cars!
  • Saturday when we finally made it back home I watched a movie that I wanted to watch. It was not a kids movie and it didn’t have guns or cars in it! 
  • I started reading a book this weekend! Me with a book! I have not read a book for enjoyment in probably 15 years! I actually like reading for fun!
  • Did I mention I went antique shopping!
Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Sounds like a great weekend. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    Reply
  2. Great post Heather! I’m glad to hear you got to do some things that YOU wanted to do. 😀

    Reply
  3. You always have a bunch of fun your way! I am amazed at the fun we can all have in life if we just look! Have a great week! Surprise for you at my blog! 🙂

    Reply
  4. I’m glad you had such a good weekend. I just love antiquing. It’s so fun to see things like that from the past. What book are you reading?

    Reply
  5. I am dying for that airplane. I had it as a kid, and while I agree $50 is too pricy, if I had the $ I would have paid it.

    I haven’t watched the parade on tv since I was a child, but last year I was in NY and caught the last 30 minutes of it LIVE and in person. Good for you for doing something for yourself.

    What book are you reading, by the way?

    Reply
  6. That sounds like a wonderful weekend! It’s nice to do something that you like to do, isn’t it?! I also had the Little People playsets as a kid and I can’t believe what some people want for them! There has been a time or two at out local swapper’s meet that I would have bought them if I would have had the $$. Great post!

    Reply
  7. I am reading Julie & Julia by Julie Powell. I figured I would read the book and then watch the movie. I am just about half-way through the book right now, which for me is very good! I am a slow reader!

    Reply
  8. S. Le

     /  December 1, 2009

    Sounds like a fab weekend! Good on you then!

    Reply
  9. mabs

     /  December 9, 2009

    I like that, a broken in sweatshirt. I think we are at the ripe age for reflecting and I, myself am finding that I like this age. 40’ish. I may be getting “older” but I love the wisdom that comes with it. All the little stuff I use to fret about, I just let it roll off. I don’t put up w/ too many people’s shenanigans either. Sounds like you had a great Thanksgiving, relaxing and enjoyable- you got to watch your parade, your own movie, and read- good for you! I need to take a page out of your book (or two, or three)….. xoxoxox

    Reply

Leave a Reply

