A Chrismouse Meme


I was tagged by Mabs over at Mood Swing Mabel  for this Holiday meme.

The Twelve days of Christmas have been celebrated since medieval times ~ traditionally beginning the day after Christmas Day (now known as Boxing Day) and ending with Twelfth Night.  And since the festive season is upon us ~ I thought it might be fun to do a Christmas meme!

Rules:

  1. Copy the delightful Chrismouse picture to your post.
  2. Copy these rules and the explanation of the meme (above).
  3. Link the person who tagged you.
  4. List 12 things: either about a Christmas present or memories about Christmas past (or a mixture of both)
  5. Tag as many or as few people as you like!

If you are reading this then you are hereby tagged!

  1. I remember every year my dad had to tell us the “Story of the Angel on Top of the Tree.” You know the one, where Santa has a really bad day and it ends with the angel asking him where he wants her to put the tree. Every year my dad made this story longer and longer. When I was about 9 I really wanted to get done with the tree and go play with my friends and he was taking what seemed to me like forever and I piped in with: “Just get to the part where he shoves the tree up her ass!”
  2. Somehow over the years on Christmas morning nobody was allowed to open presents until we drank a glass of orange juice. When I was older I asked my mom what that was all about and she said it was the only way she could get us to wait until she had enough coffee in her! I asked her well why the orange juice? She said she saw it on the show Eight is Enough and thought it was a good idea!
  3. Every Christmas Eve before Santa came my brother and I got to open 1 present that was under the tree and it was usually new pajamas. I do this with my kids too and they actually look forward to their new PJs.
  4. My mom’s birthday was December 13th so every year we gave her a new tree ornament for her birthday. We still put a new ornament up on the tree on the 13th in her memory.
  5. Every year since I was about 5 or 6 my brother and I would find the stash of presents, unwrap them and then wrap them back up! Every year we vowed we wouldn’t do it but every year we did!
  6. When my oldest daughter was about 3 she kept taking off the tree ornaments and we kept putting them back on but just out of her reach. That year the bottom 2 feet of the tree was empty!
  7. Every year Santa would put an orange in our stocking. I have no clue why he did that but he still does it to this day!
  8. A few years ago Santa & Mrs. Claus must have had a few too many egg nogs and he must have forgotten to put out a few presents left a few presents in my closet!
  9. I thought it was the coolest thing when I was 9 and we had a little store set up in our school for us kids to buy presents for our parents. I bought my mom a spice rack with my own money and I was soo proud of it!
  10. I love going to Christmas Eve Mass. I love seeing the CEO’s looking around to see what to do in church. (Christmas and Easter Only people)
  11. Last year my youngest daughter wanted an Elf like all her friends. But I was late to the table and she ended up with Chris the Christmas Mouse which has turned into a new tradition!
  12. We have a little Nativity set that you can move around and every year my girls argue over who’s turn it is to set it up!
Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I loved reading this stuff about you. All cool stuff to know. I loved Eight is Enough. We used to get those “christmas” oranges in our stockings too. You know, those small ones. I think now they are called Clementines but I will always call them christmas oranges.

    Reply
    • That’s what we got the small oranges. We used to get the small navel oranges but now Santa brings the Clementines to us too!

      Reply
  2. Oh, I remember the shopping at Christmas @ school. They set it up for us every year – they called ours “Santas Secret Workshop” – that’s an awesome memory. This was fun to read!! Thanks for playing along!

    Reply
  3. Those are all great memories Heather! It was really fun to read about you and thanks for the tag!! 😀

    Reply
  4. This is so sweet! It certainly brought a smile to my face.

    Reply
  5. This is a great idea. I really enjoyed reading your post. Thanks for the tag.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

