The Fine Art Of Reading


My mom could read a book a day and I don’t think I ever saw my dad with a book in his hands his entire life! I fall somewhere in the middle! I like to read if I am learning something. History, cookbooks those I can deal with! There have been a few authors that I really like, Steinbeck and Bradbury are the best!

Recently I read the book Julie & Julia and it took me 3 weeks to read it. I really enjoyed it and I am looking forward to reading Julie Powell’s new book Cleaving. Currently I am reading Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. I have been reading it for 3 weeks and I had to recheck it from the library because I still have about 250 pages left to read!

It seems like when I have a book in my hands everyone in my house finds the need to talk to me! They could go for hours and hours without saying one word to me and the second I grab a cup of coffee, sit on the couch and pick up a book, BAM!, they find the need to talk!

Now, I can read while the television is on as long as it’s not a show I like. I can even read while music is playing. But if someone is talking directly to me, nope not gonna happen, I can’t read! I have even tried to ignore them, you know just nod my head and go on with my reading. Then I think what if I just nodded yes to my oldest daughter getting into the car of a serial rapist or what if I just told my youngest daughter that she could get her belly button pierced! So even if I try to ignore them I can’t concentrate long enough to get past 3 sentences at a time!

Last week I tried reading at night after everyone went to bed. I am not a night reader! For one my contacts are out and I wear my glasses. Well then I have to play the glasses on, glasses off game. It took me 2 days to figure out I really don’t need my glasses on to read! Getting old sucks! My next problem is by 10 pm I am tired! Five minutes into reading that late my eyes start to play the open shut game. That’s it off to bed I go!

My husband is not a reader so he is no help to my reading woes. Actually he interrupts my reading just as much as the kids! I told him the other day if he didn’t stop bugging me he could count watching The Masters Golf Tournament in peace this year goodbye!

I know there will be hope for my getting through this latest book next week when the kids go back to school. The one place I get to read in peace is in my car waiting to pick up my youngest daughter from school, that is of course as long as my husband doesn’t call me on my cell phone!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Good luck to you. I’m not sure what I’d do if I couldn’t read. I just love it and can do it anytime, anywhere. I can tune everything out to read. It’s about the only time I can do that.

    Happy birthday by the way 🙂

    Reply
  2. I have the same problems as you do when it comes to reading Heather. The kids bother me or Paula wants to have a conversation or something is always preventing me from reading. I can and sometimes do read late at night when everyone is in bed. It’s about the only time I can read but like you, it makes me tired and I have to run off to bed. Maybe after all the kids move out I can read a book again. LOL

    Reply
  3. ttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m44z-223UYE

    Reply
    • Thank you so much! I love the Beatles. I share my b-day with my brother, I was his 3rd b-day present and we always use the “You say it’s your birthday, well it’s my birthday too” song!

      Reply
  4. Sorry I messed up on the first wishes sent! Have a great day! Read all you want!

    Reply
  5. I have always been a huge reader; back in my reading prime I could knock out like 30 books a month, which was great for college related reading. Now, I have my phases where I can’t read for weeks. I’m reading the best book about Anne Frank, and hope to finish it soon to review on my blog. Love her, love this book for all it’s extra info on this fabulous person.

    It makes me sad to think 50% of Americans never read once they graduat high school.

    I’m thinking of reviving my book club. Are you interested? Last time only two people commented, lol, so I’m nervous to do all the work and have no one into it again!

    Reply
    • What is the name of the Anne Frank book? I love reading books about history.
      I’m not sure I would do a book club, it’s hard enough for me to read a book a month for just myself let alone try to talk to other people about it!

      Reply
  6. I’m always looking forward to a great book to read. The darn print seems to get smaller and smaller every day, so I have an odd assortment of drugstore cheaters in every nook and crany at work and at home. Getting older sucks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

