It’s So Cold…


This past weekend we got Old Man Winter’s Arctic Blast here in Houston, Texas. Now, I’m not one to complain, Oh who the hell am I trying to kid yes I am, but anyway, it was freaking cold!

I didn’t do crap this weekend because it was just to darn cold! I pretty much stayed on the couch, hot coffee in hand, blanket in lap, wearing socks, a t-shirt, a sweatshirt and jeans with the thermostat on 72 degrees and the fireplace running non-stop! Yes, I am a Texan and we don’t do cold!

 All of the sitting around got me to thinking of different little sayings about the cold. My mom, who grew up in Connecticut, used to say: “The North wind will blow and we shall have snow and what will poor I do then?” She would also say, “It’s so cold out there you’ll freeze your ass off!” I used to love that saying and I use it often with my own kids! Especially when the morons where flip-flops when it’s 30 degrees outside!

It’s so cold: 

  • I’m shivering like a mobster in a tax office!
  • we had to chisel the dog off the fire hydrant!
  • the local flasher was caught *describing* himself to women!
  • you have to open the fridge to heat the house!
  • that Bill Clinton is sleeping with his own wife in order to keep warm!
  • lawyers have their hands in their own pockets!
  • when we milked the cows, we got ice cream

*Just to note: I found these little gems surfing the web.

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Bwahahahahahahaha……those are great little sayings. I’m going to use some of those. LOL

    Reply
  2. Tooo cute! I love em! Sorry it is so cold out your way. It is sooo hot here, I am in shorts! Sorry! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Ha, ha, ha….I’m LMAO!!!! That isn’t even “that” cold!!! I know it seems cold to you but man, 19 sounds like a heat wave to me right about now. I sure wish I had a fireplace.

    Reply
    • If it’s below 50 degrees I complain! I don’t know how you guys deal with it! I can’t believe you don’t have a fireplace! Really?! We have what I call a fake fireplace, it’s gas, no real wood burning at all. The nice thing is it has a remote so I can sit on the couch flip it on and when it gets too hot in the room I can just turn it off!

      Reply
      • We used to have one but we don’t now. I’d kill for one. Even a “fake” one. I think by next year we will have one. We are planning on a few changes.

        Reply
  4. Surprise for ya at my blog.
    🙂

    Reply
  5. S. Le

     /  January 14, 2010

    Yeah, I don’t understand people who wear shorts and flip-flops in the Winter. We’re actually getting above freezing for the first time in about 2 months! But I live in Northern Ohio a.k.a. Outer Siberia.

    Reply
    • I used to fight with my kids about wearing flip-flops in the winter. I gave up if they want to freeze let them! My oldest daughter is allowed to wear the stupid things to school even!

      Reply
  6. Hahaha – the flasher described himself.
    Stay warm!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

