Parenthood Sucks!!


I think the minute the nurses hand you that beautiful little bundle of joy in the hospital and they see the love in your eyes that they should warn you that one day it will be sucked right away from you. The only difference will be that you don’t get nine months to prepare for it!

My oldest daughter turned 18 mid-July and she came to the conclusion that since she was 18 she could do whatever she wanted because she was a legal adult. She decided mid-week that she was going to leave and go out of town with some friends that I barely know. I told her no and she threw a fit. After she got done calling me every name in the book she said she was leaving and I couldn’t do a damn thing about it. I informed her that if she left that would be it, she would need to find a different place to live. Her little sister even told her I was not playing around.

Needless to say she left and when I managed to get in contact with her she informed me that she would be back the day before school started and that I should leave her the F***k alone. SOOOO… with that she is now left alone. I took everything in her room and packed it up yesterday. I went out and rented a storage room and put all of her belongings in it.

She called this morning and point-blank said “I guess you kicked me out.” I informed her that indeed she was. She made an adult decision to leave and now she must face the consequences. She is staying with a friend of hers and as far as I know the mother of her friend will make her go to school. I told her today that if she needs school supplies or food I will help her with that but I will not give her any money. She needs to go find a job and figure out that in the real world you have to do things for yourself, it’s not all fun and games.

This afternoon she came over to the house to get her bed mattress and I gave her the key and the information that she needs to get her stuff out of storage this afternoon. She walked up to her room and I thought she was going to pass out when she saw everything gone. I think she really thought I was bluffing. She got in her friends car and started bawling. It killed me!

Every time I think about her I just want to tell her that it’s all ok and that she can come home anytime. Then I think about all the crap that she has been giving me and all the crap that her little sister has had to listen to and I know that I have to stick to my guns.

I might be totally wrong or this could be the best thing that ever happens to her. Either way it just plain sucks!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I’m sorry you had to go through this. I know first hand how tough it can be. If she wants to live in your home she has to follow the rules. It’s as simple as that. You have the right to set curfews and other rules and if she doesn’t like it she’s out and that is exactly what happened. Let her know how much you love her but the rules still stand. I should have done what you just did to my son when he was 18. It takes a lot of strength to do what you did. Now she can find out what it means to be an adult. I’ll be thinking of you.

    Reply
  2. S. Le

     /  August 17, 2010

    This makes me sad. So sorry this has happened and hope it all works out soon.

    Reply
  3. I don’t know how this post got past me JAM. I’m so sorry you’re going through this but I have to tell you, you did the right thing. I can’t and won’t get into this on a public blog but I had to do this with Jason his senior year in high school too. He was gone a few weeks and when I laid the rules out for him and told him it was OUR house and not his and IF he wanted to be a part of our family, he had to follow the house rules like everyone else. The thing you said that makes the most sense is what she’s doing to daughter #2. I also felt bad for the shit Toby had to deal with when Jason was acting like a total ass.

    Email me if you want to. I’m very sorry but you have to be tough for now. She WILL come around.

    Reply
    • Thanks Joy, it’s nice to hear that I am doing the right thing. Let me tell you this has been the toughest thing to do!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

