What Tattoos You Have and If They Have Meaning


When I was 42 I was hospitalized for a month with Acute Pancreatitis & I was diagnosed as a Type 1 Diabetic. This little life changing event made me change me outlook on life. 

One of those outlooks was of tattoos. I decided if I could keep my diabetes in line that I would get one on my birthday. But it had to be something good, something meaningful and something me. So on my 43rd birthday I got this:  

The Gnome is for my quirky love of gnomes. He is holding a lantern to always brighten my path. Peace, Love & Faith. The 3 stars represents the 3 most important people in my life who are now shining brightly down on me from heaven, my aunt/Godmother, my mom and my dad. This was supposed to be my one and only. 

Ya right! On my 44th birthday I added these:  

 The cat is for my mom. She said she would return to earth as a black cat and after she passed I have had a black cat around my house, no matter where I live. The owl is for my dad. His submarine mascot was an owl and every Christmas I gave him an owl figurine of some sort. When he passed I found I now have an owl that hangs around my house, again no matter where I live. 

And then I turned 45. This is my newest tattoo:  

 I have always loved John Lennon. When I visited NYC a few years ago I had to go see the mosaic in Central Park. I fell in love with that park for several reasons, one being Strawberry Fields and the other was that my mom had grown up in NYC. I grew up hearing all sorts of grand stories of NYC in the 30’s & 40’s. Red Roses were her favorite flowers so I thought it fitting to add that to the mosaic. Peace, Love & Music. Imagine.

46th birthday present is already in my thought process….

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Awww JAM, you know I love your tattoos but it was great learning the meaning behind them. It’s a beautiful way to remember your mom & dad! I loved reading this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

